Categories
NEWS

HOW I BOUGHT A JUJU SACRIFICIAL LOOKING KILISHI

Kilishi is a kind of jerky made from deboned Beef or Mutton meat commonly prepared by the Hausa people of Nigeria. It is sliced meat out from the bones that makes it easy to dry, spiced with flavour like peanuts paste, pepper and yaaji.
Since it is commonly found in the North, it has become customary as a regular snack to buy for the people in the Southern part of Nigeria, as gift when travelling down. 
I had a trip to Abuja recently, on my way back from Abuja. I decided to purchase quality amount of Kilishi to Lagos from the local vendors at the Gwagwalada Motor Park hawking it. There were about six of them hawking the Kilishi. 
I called one of the guys to have a look and taste for selection. The Kilishi were neatly packaged like a NIPOST Parcel. I was amazed at the packaging. I bought 3 packs at the rate of One thousand Five hundred Naira only (N1,500), that is, N500 for each.
Only for me to get to Lagos, I popped the Kilishi packages opened, I found a tiny slates of Kilishi in each of the packages,that can’t even be offered to those local gods in the South East, juju sacrifice. I rolled the other pieces of paper opened, thinking some slates of the Kilishi were hiding in between them. All to no avail.
The whole packed was filled with paper debris, ino other words, I purchased packaged old newspapers.
I was so mad at it. Never again will I buy packaged Kilishi except the packaging is transparent.

By NereusDucks

HIGHWAYS BLOG is created and managed by NeReuSDucKs. A seasoned Blogger with penchant for ICT and the Digital World.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.